Easter Card

3D86D97A-2D1F-4EB1-936A-14FF97919426

I created this card using the March 2016 Card Kit from SimonSaysStamp.com. I began by making a 4.25″ x  5.5″ card base out of the orange card-stock. I then cut the bunny patterned paper  from the Echo Park Patterned paper to 4″ x 5.25″ to leave a 1/8″ border.

I used a scrap piece of white card-stock to stamp the solid bunnies from Simon Says Stamp  Set “My Kind of Peep” using Hero Arts mini stamp pads in green and orange. Then, I quickly applied and heat-set clear-glitter embossing powder from Hampton Art. After embossing I realized I had forgotten to stamp the bunnies faces! So I used my Stayz-On Jet Black ink pad hoping it would adhere to the embossing…and it did! Yay!

For the window, I used the brown side of a patterned paper. I cut my rectangle using my paper cutter. Next, I used a compass (yes I cheated! Lol) to draw a light circle on the back of the brown paper. I then used my scissors to cut out the circle to make a window for my card. I placed the green bunny on the back of the brown paper before adhereing a piece of astatate  to the back of the brown paper using double sided tape.

I placed two layers of foam tape on the back of the brown paper. I then placed some of the yellow sequins from Simon Says Stamp in the back of the brown paper on the astatate. Now here is where I made a mistake and learned my lesson! I didn’t place another paper on the back of the brown paper! It took a lot of patience and trial and error to get that shaker window onto the bunny patterned paper. However, in the end I accomplished my task with a sticky note reminder NEVER do that AGAIN! Lol! After that, I placed the orange bunny on the front of the shaker using a few foam squares and went around with a white Signo Pen creating a faux stitch look.

And finally, the sentiment! I took a yellow stripe from one of the patterned papers and cut it to the size I wanted. I then used, a light brown Spectrum Noir marker to go around the edges. The final touch was stamping the sentiment from the Simon Says Stamp “My Kind of Peep” set using orange for “peep” and brown for the rest.

That is my completed card project. This project was created for the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge. Thank you for stopping by!

 

 

One thought on “Easter Card

  1. Oh my… this is too cute for words! I love the window design with the peep peeking out….SO SWEET! This card truly is a labor of love as the design really shows! Wow! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Cute and Cuddly” Challenge! Glad that you share this darling design!

    Like

Leave a Reply

